coquito1484917_10151796567127055_679177908_nI spent the Thanksgiving dinner with my nephew and his family. They not only invited me as their guest, but also include a few friends. One of my niece’s friends brought over a coconut mixture to create “Coquito.” The coconut-rum beverage origins from Puerto Rico and is popular during the holiday season. Once I tasted this drink, I had to have the recipe. It reminds me of the childhood beverages — without the alcohol, of course. I love cold and served over ice. But, on cold nights, I warm up the coconut mixture and then add the rum. Thanks Yukari and Andres for sharing your recipe with me.

Ingredients
1/2 cup water
1 14 ounce can sweetened condensed milk
2 15 ounce cans coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon or to taste ground cinnamon
1 pinch salt
1 cup rum
cinnamon sticks to garnish (optional)

Directions
Pour the water, milk, rum and coconut milk into a blender. Add the cinnamon and salt. Blend until well combined. Refrigerate for at least one hour or until ready to serve. Tip: If you are making the coquito coconut mixture ahead of time or plan to serve hot, leave out the rum when you blend. Add the rum when you are ready to serve. Garnish the drink with cinnamon sticks.

