1402695_10151695890737055_1408310818_oRemember hot lunches at elementary school and salisbury steak? Or even frozen dinners and salisbury steak. Wasn’t very tasty, was it? But, I still ate it. There are days though, when I actually want salisbury steak. But, my salisbury steak doesn’t taste anything like my childhood salisbury steak. I’ve upped the ingredients and I’m sure the fact that I simmer the steak until it is tender makes all the difference. Best of all, it’s super easy to make. It’s now one of my comfort foods — especially on colder days. You can serve salisbury steak over rice or noodles. I like it best with mashed potatoes on the side.

Ingredients
1 can of cream of mushroom soup (divided into 1/4 cup and 3/4 cups)
1 lb. ground meat
1/3 cup dry bread crumbs
1 egg, beaten
1/4 cup onion, finely chopped
1 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
salt and pepper to taste

Directions
Mix 1/4 cup cream of mushroom soup, ground meat, bread crumbs, egg, onions and seasoning. Shape into 6 patties, brown in skillet. Pour off grease. Stir in remaining soup and mushrooms. Cover, cook about 30 minutes or until done.

