1382668_10151694033252055_1998233740_oMy brother is living in China. When he comes for a visit, he tells me that he doesn’t eat much rice anymore. He tells me that where they live, most of the meals include noodles. Now I know noodles are an essential ingredient and staple in Chinese cuisine. So, I thought before my brother comes for a return visit, I would prepare some dishes using noodles. Most of the noodles that I cook with have been dried rice noodles. I know my brother eats fresh noodles in China. Instead of trying to make fresh noodles myself, I went to an Asian market and purchased fresh noodles. One of the most common noodle dishes is Lo Mein. The dish involves tossing boiled noodles in the wok and mixing them with other ingredients during the final stages of cooking. Much like the Filipino dish, pancit. But, pancit uses rice noodles while Lo Mein is made with egg noodles. You can use your own template of meat and vegetable ingredients to mix together. I am using shrimp and SPAM® to give my Lo Mein a different variation — and it gives me another chance to use SPAM® in another dish!

Ingredients
1 12 ounce package fresh Asian egg noodles
1 teaspoon sesame oil
3/4 cup water
1/4 cup soy sauce
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 pound small or medium shrimp – peeled, deveined
1 12 ounce can SPAM®
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
3/4 cup carrots, julienne cuts
3/4 cup Chinese broccoli
1/2 cup onion slices
1/2 cup shredded cabbage
3 cloves garlic, minced

Directions
Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook Asian egg noodles in the boiling water until cooked through yet firm to the bite, 4 to 5 minutes. Drain. Toss with sesame oil in a bowl to coat. Mix water, soy sauce, cornstarch, oyster sauce, and ground ginger into a sauce a small bowl. Heat 1 tablespoon vegetable oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Cook and stir shrimp in hot oil until pink, 2 to 3 minutes. Add SPAM®. Cook until heated. Remove shrimp and SPAM® from skillet to a bowl and return pan to heat. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon vegetable oil in the pan. Add garlic. Cook until fragrant. Add in remaining vegetables and cook until slightly tender. Pour prepared sauce over vegetable mixture. Stir continually, bring to a simmer and cook until slightly thickened. Return shrimp and SPAM® to the pan. Mix. Add egg noodles. Toss to coat.

