photoI did a test bake last night of my Pumpkin Dump Cake. It turned out quite well. I remember the first time I made this cake: Thanksgiving several years ago — when our family still didn’t have much money to buy fancy pre-made dessert from bakeries or cheesecake factories. My mom, who favored Filipino desserts over “American” desserts, even liked this cake (mostly because you can control the amount of sugar). I let this cake cool complete before I sliced up a serving. Top it with whip cream or a scoop of ice cream. Yum!

Ingredients
1 29 oz. can pumpkin
1 cup sugar
1 12 oz. can evaporated milk
3 eggs
4 teaspoons pumpkin pie spices
1/2  teaspoon salt
1 box yellow cake mix
1 1/2 cubes butter, melted
1 cup pecans, chopped

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine pumpkin, sugar, evaporated milk, eggs, pumpkin pie spices and salt in mixing bowl. Beat well. Pour into greased and floured 9 x 13 inch glass pan. Sprinkle cake mix over pumpkin mixture, then sprinkle on the pecans. Pour melted butter over all. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Top with whip cream or scoop of ice cream.

