1091545_10151566557892055_323849603_oI was watching the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes” and it occurred to me that I have never tried fried green tomatoes. My neighbor has lots of tomato plants. While they are beginning to bear fruit, non of the tomatoes are red ripe. I’ve been waiting for them to get ripe on the vine, but I the thought of preparing green tomatoes just appeals to me right now. The movie recipe calls for corn meal and regular milk. But, I’ve substituted that with panko crumbs and use buttermilk instead. And, I’ve added a few other touches to make this recipe my own. I served them with a side of buttermilk ranch dressing.

Ingredients
Oil for deep frying
4 green tomatoes, cut into 1/4-inch rings
Kosher salt and ground black pepper
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon garlic powder
4 eggs
1/4 cup buttermilk milk
1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
cayenne pepper and paprika, to taste

Directions
In a deep-fryer, preheat oil to 350 degrees F. Season tomatoes, on both sides, with salt and pepper. Place flour and garlic powder in a shallow dish. In another shallow dish, beat eggs with the buttermilk. In another dish, mix bread crumbs with cayenne and paprika. Dredge tomatoes through the flour, then the eggs, and then through the panko crumbs. Add only a few pieces to the fryer at a time, so they can cook evenly, about 2 to 3 minutes. Drain on paper towels and serve.

