Years ago, when I was in college, I made this recipe for my college roommates. They loved it. I would make it regularly for them — and when I came home for weekends and vacations, I made this for my mom. Somehow along the way, this recipe got lost. I had not thought about this dish until recently when I volunteered to make a pasta dish for a potluck. This is a good hearty casserole that is easy to make and kid-friendly.

Ingredients
1 (12 ounce) package wide egg noodles
1 pound lean ground beef
1 tablespoon cooking oil
2 cloves fresh garlic, minced
1 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 cup tomato sauce
1 cup cottage cheese, small curd
1 cup sour cream
1 cup chopped green onions
1 cup shredded sharp Cheddar cheese

Directions
Cook noodles in boiling salted water. Rinse in cold water and drain. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brown meat in oil. Add salt, pepper, garlic and tomato sauce. Simmer for 5 minutes. Mix cottage cheese, sour cream, green onions, meat sauce and noodles. Place in a casserole dish and sprinkle with cheddar cheese
Bake uncovered for 20 to 25 minutes.

