Recently, I was going through my mother’s old cookbook, scanning for recipes I can share. It was a bittersweet experience — looking at my mother’s handwritten recipes, some faded and worn. These were recipes she actually took the time to write down. Most were recipes she had already passed on to me. But then, I stumbled upon a recipe for bibingka. Now, my Auntie Rufina taught me how to make Coconut Bibingka (a recipe I have already shared). And, since I learned that version of bibingka, my mom always had me make it for family gatherings. To come across this version was a little startling. I always assumed my mother didn’t have a bibingka recipe. Now, bibingka is a type of rice cake native to the Philippines. It’s traditionally made from milled glutinous rice, coconut milk, margarine and sugar. It’s also baked in a pan that is pre-lined in a banana-leaf. This recipe follows that traditional recipe. I like to think that maybe this was the bibingka recipe that her family passed on to her. And, now, maybe my mom is passing it on to me.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rice flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup fresh milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 salted duck egg, sliced (optional)
  • 1/2 cup grated cheese
  • Pre-cut banana leaf
  • Butter for topping (optional)
  • Sugar for topping (optional)

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, combine rice flour, baking powder and salt then mix well. Set aside. Cream butter. Gradually add sugar while whisking. Add eggs and whisk until blended. Gradually add flour mixture and continue mixing. Pour in coconut milk and fresh milk. Mix until well blended. Arrange the pre-cut banana leaf on a cake or baking pan. Pour the mixture in the pan. Bake for 15-20 minutes. Remove from the oven and top with sliced salted egg and grated cheese. Put back in the oven and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until the top of cake is medium brown or when a toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. Remove from the oven and let cool. Brush with butter and sprinkle some sugar on top before serving.

