Tags

, ,

Chicken adobo is the quintessential Filipino dish. I think this was the very first dish my mother every taught me to cook on my own. It’s simple to prepare. Because the more common recipe for Adobo is so easy, our family had this dish served up regularly. Once this dish is simmering in a pot, it can cook on it’s own. It’s one of those one-pot meals that mom’s love to make. And, when you’re cooking Adobo, there is no way you can get away from the aroma of simmering chicken, soy sauce and vinegar. Over the years, I have tried out different ways to “perfect” my chicken adobo recipe. I think I have succeeded. For now, I will share this easy version. But, I have several more. Look for them in other posts!

Ingredients

  • 1 whole chicken, cut into pieces
  • 1 large onion, quartered and sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1/3 cup white vinegar
  • 2/3 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon black peppercorns
  • 3 bay leaf

Directions
Combine all ingredients in a large pot. Bring to boil, then lower heat. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Uncover and simmer until sauce is reduced and thickened, and chicken is tender, about 20 more minutes. Serve with steamed rice.

