Tags

, ,

My sibligs and I always knew when vistors were coming to the house. Hours before the guests would arrive, my mom would be in the kitchen preparing food. When we were young, my mom did not have us helping out with the food preparation — except when it came to making fried wontons. My mom would prepare the filling and then call my older sister and me to the table. We knew why were there: To wrap the wontons. And, we knew because everyone liked them, we would have to wrap dozens of wontons. Sometimes, my sister and I would form an assembly line. She would stuff the wonton with filling and fold it over. I would take a fork and edge them to make sure the wonton was completely sealed — or vise versa. My mother, in turn, would deep fry them. I can recall hours and hours of making wonton with family. The wontons were served as an appetizer at parties. Most of the time, the wontons were placed on the table with the rest of the food. Problem with the wontons is that once they are out, everyone goes after them and they are usually the first dish gone.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. ground pork (you can use ground beef, turkey or chicken as an option)
  • 3 garlic clove, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ginger, grated
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 3 carrots, grated
  • 3 green onions, finely chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1 12 ounce package wonton wrappers
  • 1 egg (for sealing)
  • Oil (for deep frying)
  • Sweet chili sauce or sweet and sour sauce (optional)

Directions
In a large bowl combine pork, garlic, ginger, soy sauce, sesame oil, carrots, green onions and egg to make the filling. In a small bowl, slightly beat egg. Lay out a wonton wrapper and place a heaping teaspoon of the filling into the center of the wrapper. Brush egg on 2 edges on one side of the wrapper. Fold over to form a triangle and seal the edges tightly with your finger. With a fork, pinch edges to complete sealing. Repeat until all the wrappers and/or filling are used. Heat oil in a wok to 375 degrees. Deep fry in batches until golden brown. Place cooked wontons on paper towel so excess oil can drain. Transfer to serving platter. Serve warm with sweet chili sauce in a bowl on the side.

