Tags

,

Growing up, my mother always made pancit to serve for our birthdays, major holidays and family gathers or parties. She didn’t just make pancit the traditional Filipino style  — using bihon, canton or sotanghon noodles — she used all three. This dish was her gift to us. While I would watch my mama cook this dish, I never had to make it for myself because I always knew my mother would make it if I asked her to. Not only did we share this dish with family and friends, but my mother would set aside a tray of pancit for me to bring back to work and share with my co-workers. Believe it or not, I just learned to make this dish on a few years ago.

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 lb. pork shoulder, sliced thinly
  • 1 chicken breast, deboned and sliced thinly
  • 1/2 lb. shrimp, peeled
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup cabbage, shredded
  • 1 cup green beans, julienned
  • 2 carrots, julienned
  • 3/4 cup dried black or shiitake mushrooms (optional)
  • 1 pkg. (1 lb) pancit canton
  • 1 bundle sotanghon noodles
  • 1 pkg. bihon noodles
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • Patis (Filipino fish sauce), to taste (optional)
  • 4 green onions, sliced
  • 1 lemon or kalamansi, cut into wedges
  • 4 hard-boiled eggs, peeled and cut into slices

Directions

If using mushrooms, soak them in warm water for 30 minutes, then cut into strips, discarding the tough stems. Set aside. In separate bowl, soak sotanghon noodles in hot water until noodles are tender, about 20 minutes. Set aside. Heat oil over medium-high heat in wok or large skillet. Saute garlic and onions until tender. Add pork, chicken and shrimp, and cook until browned. Add soy sauce, stirring to flavor. Add cabbage, green beans, carrots and mushrooms. Cook until vegetables are tender, yet crisp, 5-8 minutes. Set aside meat and vegetable mixture. Add chicken broth to the wok and bring to boil. Add canton and bihon noodles, mixing gently to prevent them from breaking. Cook until liquid is absorbed and noodles are done, about 10 minutes. Add sotanghon noodles and meat and vegetable mixture. Mix gently. Remove from heat. Season with black pepper and patis. Garnish with green onions, lemon wedges and hard-boiled eggs slices.

